Texas Collegiate League

Premium Summer Ball, Texas Style

League News



Monday, July 11, 2005

Gabe Nesbitt Field, McKinney, Texas

7:30 a.m.--Registration and putting contest, TCL All-Star Golf Classic, TPC Course at Craig Ranch
8:30 a.m.--Start of TCL All-Star Golf Classic, Shotgun Start
2:00 p.m.--TCL All-Star Luncheon, TPC Course
4:00 p.m..--Gabe Nesbitt Field Gates open
4:00-4:40 p.m.--Speaker All-Stars BP
4:40 p.m.--Team Pictures in outfield
4:50-5:30.--Hornsby All-Stars BP
5:30-5:40 p.m.--Speaker All-Stars Infield
5:40-5:50 p.m.--Hornsby All-Stars Infield
6:05-6:35 p.m.--TCL All-Star Home Run Derby
6:45 p.m.--On-Field Introductions
6:55 p.m.--National Anthem—Brooke Bryant
Ceremonial First Pitches—Bill Whitfield, Mayor of McKinney, Texas
Dave Barnes, Brookshire’s/McCormick
7:05 p.m.--First pitch

HOME RUN DERBY: The six participants in the TCL All-Star Home Run Derby:
Hornsby Division Speaker Division
Andrew Brown, Denton* Matt Berezay, Highland Park
Dustin Martin, Graham Adam Moore, Coppell
Robbie Winn, Weatherford* Keith Stein, Euless
*Not on All-Star Team

BROADCASTING INFO: Tonight’s TCL All-Star Game will be carried live by Fox Sports Net Southwest and Fox College Sports. Scott Franzke, Steve Busby, and Lesley Floyd comprise the announcing team. The game will also be carried on KDKR Radio, 91.3/97.5/90.5 FM. John Liddle, Jerry Ruyle, and John Frow will be on the call. The game will also be broadcast via the internet on www.ccir.us with Ray Canevari and Dave Conley.

ROSTER CHANGES: There have been three changes to the original rosters selected for the Texas Collegiate League All-Star Game.
On the Tris Speaker Division All-Star roster, OF Matt Berezay of Highland Park replaced Blue Sox teammate INF Ryan Hill, who had a previously planned family commitment. OF Keith Stein of Euless has been added in place of his LoneStar teammate, OF Matt Lambeth, who had a family emergency.
From the Rogers Hornsby Division All-Stars. OF Keanon Simon of Graham was hit by a pitch in Saturday night’s game with Coppell and is unavailable to play on Monday night. His spot will be taken by Roughnecks IF Jess Buenger.

IN THE GENES: Two of the Speaker All-Stars have fathers who pitched in the majors, both for the Texas Rangers among other teams. Euless 1B-LHP Drew Jeffcoat of Baylor is the son of Mike Jeffcoat, who is the head baseball coach at Texas Wesleyan University and also the pitching coach of the Euless LoneStars. LHP James Russell of Coppell and Navarro J.C. is the son of former Ranger Jeff Russell.

WELCOME BACK: Ten players who appeared in the 2004 TCL All-Star Game in Graham are on the 2005 All-Star rosters, seven for the Speaker Division and three for the Hornsby Division. Four of those have been with McKinney both seasons: RHP Bryce Cox, INF Jose Salazar, OF Louie Alamia, amd OF Trey Rachel. OF Tyler Jones becomes a two-time All-Star from Highland Park. Two others, RHP Rodney Brantley (Highland Park) and LHP Branden Knapp (Coppell) represented Granbury in the Hornsby Division a year ago.
In the Hornsby Division, INF Justin Colbert and OF Dustin Martin will represent Graham for the second consecutive year. INF Parker Dalton of Mineral Wells also played in the 2004 game.
Alamia will be the only player to start both the 2004 and 2005 TCL All-Star Games.

MORE ON 2004: The Speaker Division recorded a 7-3 victory in the inaugural TCL All-Star Game at Steer Stadium in Graham on July 11, 2004. Drew Johnson of Coppell retired all six batters he faced as the Speaker starter and was selected as the game’s Outstanding Player. McKinney’s Austin Boggs and Weatherford’s Travis Reagan had home runs in the game. Randall Taylor of McKinney was the winner with Graham’s Eric Stolp taking the loss. McKinney’s Kyle Hope was the Speaker Division head coach with Brian Strickland of Graham guiding the Hornsby Division All-Stars.

HEAD COACHES: Jack Giese of Coppell will be the head coach for the Speaker Division as his Coppell Copperheads will have the league’s best overall record at the break. The Hornsby Division head coach will be Jeff Lightfoot of the Weatherford Wranglers, who enter the break a half game in front of the Denton Outlaws.

ALL-STAR AWARDS: Three awards will be presented tonight. They are the Outstanding Player and Pitcher Awards of the Brookshire’s McCormick TCL All-Star Game and the TCL Home Run Derby Champion. All three recipients will receive a specially created commemorative bat from D-Bat, the exclusive bat of the Texas Collegiate League.
RHP Drew Johnson of Coppell was named the Outstanding Player of the 2004 All-Star Game. Garrett Baker of Mineral Wells won the first TCL All-Star Home Run Derby at Graham’s Steer Stadium.

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

August 2022
July 2022
June 2022
May 2022
April 2022
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
April 2020
March 2020
July 2019
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
December 2016
November 2016
August 2016
July 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
August 2015
July 2015
November 2014
August 2014
July 2014
May 2014
April 2014
November 2013
August 2013
July 2013
May 2013
March 2013
November 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
November 2011
October 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
March 2011
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
April 2008
February 2008
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005