Texas Collegiate League

Premium Summer Ball, Texas Style

League News

Rosters Announced for 2014 TCL All-Star Game

The Texas Collegiate League announced its rosters for the 2014 TCL All-Star Game on Friday. The affair will be hosted by the Brazos Valley Bombers at Cellucor Field on Tuesday, July 8.
The league returns to a North-South format this year, with the host Bombers teaming up with the East Texas Pump Jacks and the Texas Marshals to make up the North. The South squad will be comprised of representatives of the Acadiana Cane Cutters, Victoria Generals, and Woodlands Strykers.

There will be no shortage of star power at this year’s event. Nine Dinger Bats TCL Player and Pitcher of the Week honorees will participate in the All-Star Game. The top-14 batting average qualifiers, the top-seven in RBI, the top-seven in ERA, and the leaders in wins, strikeouts, and innings pitched will also be in attendance.

It comes as no surprise that the Bombers lead all TCL teams with 11 participants. Brazos Valley, which won the league title in 2013 and was named summer collegiate national champion by Perfect Game, won the first-half title with a 22-6 record. The Generals, who finished in second with a 22-8 mark, lead the South with nine all-stars.

Six players repeated this season as all-stars, and five of them were the top vote-getters at their position. G.R. Hinsley, who set the TCL single-season RBI record last year, will repeat at first base, and Bombers teammate Horacio Correa III will return as the starting shortstop. Brazos Valley hurler Nick Johnson was named the top reliever for the North squad. On the South, 2013 TCL All-Star Home Run Derby champion Kevin Santana from the Strykers will start as the designated hitter. Santana’s teammate Gandy Stubblefield was named the top reliever for the South.

The Pump Jacks’ Matthew Dickey, who set the league stolen base record in 2013 and who started in the All-Star Game last year, will be a reserve for the North.

Hinsley and Correa will be surrounded by Marshals in the North infield. Carson Shaddy will start behind the plate, with Carlos Contreras at second base and Chase Doughdrill at third.

The starting South infield features Acadiana teammates Hunter Wood and Taylor Walker will start at catcher and first base, respectively. The rest of the infield will be comprised of Generals: Pedro Barrios at second base, TCL batting leader Alvaro Rondon at short, and Cedric Vallieres at the hot corner.

The North outfield includes a pair of teammates from the host Bombers, Hunter Haley and Matt Hilston. Joe Moroney from the Pump Jacks rounds out the starting outfield.

Victoria teammates Justin Pacchiolli and Brian Portelli will be joined by Acadiana’s Connor Barron in the South outfield.

Santana will start as designated hitter for the South, with Jace Reese from the Marshals serving as his counterpart on the North.

Reserves for the North include infielders Logan Nottebrok from the Bombers, Andrew Grifol out of East Texas, and the Marshals’ Oliver Christensen.

Their counterparts on the South are catcher Dayfran Ortiz from Victoria and Woodlands teammates Spence Rahm and Cody Clarke.

Dickey will serve as the reserve outfield for the North, and league stolen base leader Mark Whitehead from the Strykers will do the same for the South.

The North pitching staff is led by three Bombers favorites. League wins leader Garrett Harris, the top righty, and left-hander Eric Polivka join Johnson as top vote-getters.

They are joined by three more Brazos Valley pitchers: Cody Brannon, Zach Girrens, and Andre Shewcraft.

Texas right-hander Nick Palacios and East Texas teammates Jeremy Hallonquist and Anthony Gonsolin round out the North staff.

The South staff is led by righty Ryan Benitez from the Generals and left-hander Andrew Godail from the Woodlands. The two are both in the top-ten in ERA and are tied for the league lead in strikeouts. Stubblefield was the top vote-getter among relievers.

A trio of Cane Cutters will bolster the South bullpen. Lefty Scott Ashford will make the trip with right-handers Ryan May and Alec Sanchez.

Completing the South staff are league ERA leader Ty Schlottmann and Kris Looper from the Generals, and the Strykers’ Nolan Holland.

Two-time defending TCL Coach of the Year Curt Dixon will skipper the North squad, with Victoria’s Jonathan Burns at the helm for the South.

Last year, the East defeated the West in an 11-8 shootout. Ty Marlow from the host Pump Jacks walked away with MVP honors after going 3-for-5 with a perfect inning on the mound.

For more information on the 2014 TCL All-Star Game and to purchase tickets, visit bvbombers.com or call the Bombers at (979) 779-PLAY.

Rosters for the 2014 TCL All-Star Game
(players listed in bold were selected starters)

North All-Stars   South All-Stars
POS Player Team   POS Player Team
C Shaddy, Carson
TEX   C Wood, Hunter
1B Hinsley, G.R. BVB   1B Walker, Taylor ACA
2B Contreras, Carlos
2B Barrios, Pedro
3B Doughdrill, Chase
3B Vallieres, Cedric
SS Correa III, Hector BVB
SS Rondon, Alvaro
IF Nottebrok, Logan BVB
C Ortiz, Dayfran VIC
IF Grifol, Andrew ETPJ   IF Clarke, Cody WOO
IF Christensen, Oliver TEX   IF Rahm, Spence WOO
OF Haley, Hunter
BVB   OF Barron, Connor
OF Hilston, Matt
OF Pacchiolli, Justin
OF Moroney, Joe ETPJ
OF Portelli, Brian VIC
OF Dickey, Matthew ETPJ   OF Whitehead, Mark WOO
DH Reese, Jace TEX
DH Santana, Kevin

P Brannon, Cody BVB   P Ashford, Scott ACA
P Girrens, Zach BVB   P Benitez, Ryan VIC
P Gonsolin, Anthony ETPJ   P Godail, Andrew WOO
P Hallonquist, Jeremy ETPJ   P Holland, Nolan WOO
P Harris, Garrett BVB   P Looper, Kris VIC
P Johnson, Nick BVB   P May, Ryan ACA
P Palacios, Nick TEX   P Sanchez, Alex ACA
P Polivka, Eric BVB   P Schlottmann, Ty VIC
P Shewcraft, Andre BVB   P Stubblefield, Gandy WOO



Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

August 2022
July 2022
June 2022
May 2022
April 2022
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
April 2020
March 2020
July 2019
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
December 2016
November 2016
August 2016
July 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
August 2015
July 2015
November 2014
August 2014
July 2014
May 2014
April 2014
November 2013
August 2013
July 2013
May 2013
March 2013
November 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
November 2011
October 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
March 2011
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
April 2008
February 2008
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005