Texas Collegiate League

Premium Summer Ball, Texas Style

League News


In spite of being no hit by Coppell Copperhead pitchers Randy Boone (six innings) and James Russell (two innings), the McKinney Marshals captured their second Tris Speaker Division Texas Collegiate League title by edging Coppell 2-0 Wednesday night at Gabe Nesbitt Field.

It also marked back-to-back upsets in the division playoff series by the second-seeded Marshals, who downed Coppell 2-0 in games in the 2005 Tris Speaker Division playoffs.

The win was not in typical fashion as McKinney scratched for an unearned run on a pair of Copperheads' errors in the third inning and scored again without the benefit of a hit in the bottom of the sixth frame when Michael Richard (Prairie View A&M) stole home. Richard led the TCL with 28 base thefts in 48 regular-season games.

The Copperheads slapped five hits - four singles and a double - but were guilty of four errors while the Marshals backed complete-game winner Randall Taylor (Dallas Baptist) with faultless fielding. Taylor worked all nine innings while striking out nine and walking a pair of Coppell batsmen. He pitched his way out of a major one-out jam in the top of the seventh inning after a walk and a double. Taylor then retired the next two hitters on a strikeout and pop out to stop the late-inning threat.

Losing pitcher Randy Boone (four strikeouts, one walk in six IP) was on the tough end of the 2:06 contest in McKinney and was ejected in the top of the seventh. Russell, a fellow Longhorn for the 2007 campaign as a transfer, worked the final two frames with a pair of whiffs and no safeties allowed.

This sets up the second rematch in TCL history after Denton and McKinney met in the 2005 championship round. Interestingly, both teams swept divisional playoffs' foes (Denton over Weatherford and McKinney vs. Coppell) en route to the championship playoffs.

Blessed with the playoff home field advantage in 2005 as well, the Marshals fell to the Outlaws 5-4 at Gabe Nesbitt Field, won 2-1 at Denton and then lost to the Outlaws 3-1 in the finale at McKinney.

The Marshals host Denton at 7:05 p.m. (CDT) Friday before the series moves to Denton Ryan High School Baseball Field on Saturday at 7:35 p.m. If a third game is needed to decide the title outcome, it will be played in McKinney at 7:05 p.m. Sunday. The first two TCL championship series both went the full three contests as Coppell downed Graham 2-1 in games in '04.

McKinney seeks its first league crown while the Outlaws try to become the first TCL entry to win two championships. Denton has lost just once (in the middle game of the championship round last year to McKinney) in seven total postseason clashes since becoming part of the Texas Collegiate League in 2005.

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

August 2023
May 2023
August 2022
July 2022
June 2022
May 2022
April 2022
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
April 2020
March 2020
July 2019
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
December 2016
November 2016
August 2016
July 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
August 2015
July 2015
November 2014
August 2014
July 2014
May 2014
April 2014
November 2013
August 2013
July 2013
May 2013
March 2013
November 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
November 2011
October 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
March 2011
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
April 2008
February 2008
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005